About The ISAF Sailing World Cup Melbourne

Now in its sixth year, the ISAF Sailing World Cup – Melbourne is well established as a world-class fixture in Victoria’s summer of sailing. Showcasing the best of the best on Melbourne’s Port Phillip Bay, the ISAF Sailing World Cup is the premier annual event for Olympic class sailing in the Southern Hemisphere.

Held in five cities around the world, Melbourne is the second regatta in the circuit, which begins in Qingdao, China before heading to Melbourne, AUS; Miami, USA; Hyeres, France and Weymouth & Portland, GBR to make up the ISAF Sailing World Cup.

Over 2500 of the world’s leading sailors representing 48 nations have competed at the event the past four years. The ISAF Sailing World Cup offers a definitive guide to the best in Olympic sailing, scoring competitors across all events throughout the season.

At a national level,  the ISAF Sailing World Cup – Melbourne is Australia’s most important and inclusive Olympic and Youth Class regatta, providing a platform for aspiring young sailors to compete in a world class event alongside their sailing heroes through its Invited Classes.

With the support of the Victorian Government, Melbourne will host the Oceanic arm of the ISAF Sailing World Cup for the next three years as it continues to cement itself as a significant event in Melbourne’s major sporting portfolio, alongside the Spring Racing Carnival, Australian Tennis Open and Melbourne Formula 1 Grand Prix.

About ISAF Sailing

The International Sailing Federation (ISAF) is officially recognised by the International Olympic Committee as the governing authority for sailing worldwide. ISAF is responsible for the promotion and development of the sport internationally, including managing sailing at the Olympic Games, developing the International Yacht Racing Rules and Regulations as well as the training of judges, umpires and other administrators.

Olympic class sailing is different to the larger yachts that compete in events such as the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race. They are small one or two-person dinghies sailed ‘off the beach‘. All in all, there are 10 classes eligible to compete in the Olympics as well as three Paralympic classes.

A Sailing World Cup event includes a series of races taking place over the course of the week for each of the participating classes. All boats of the same class are known as a ‘fleet’ and compete against each other on the same course at the same time. The racecourses incorporate a variety of different sailing angles including upwind, downwind and reaching, and races usually last between 30 and 75 minutes.

 2014-15 ISAF Sailing World Cup Regattas






ISAF Sailing World Cup Qingdao




ISAF Sailing World Cup Melbourne




ISAF Sailing World Cup Miami




ISAF Sailing World Cup Hyeres




ISAF Sailing World Cup Weymouth & Portland

Weymouth & Portland


Enter Regatta
Preliminary Race Schedule
Race Documents
Shipping, Logistics & Charters
Invited Class Representatives
Results, Live Tracking, Notices
Competitor Insurance

Newsletter Subscription